spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches DIRECTV satellite
Posted: Tue, Nov 27, 2001, 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
Ariane Flight 143 launch (Arianespace) An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched a new direct television broadcasting satellite Monday evening. The Ariane 44LP lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana at 7:35 pm EST Monday (0035 GMT Tuesday) on Flight 146 and placed into geosynchronous transfer orbit the DIRECTV-4S spacecraft. DIRECTV-4S, a Boeing 601HP, will be used to provide local television programming in 41 markets in the United States from its position at 101 degrees west longitude. The launch was the 65th consecutive successful launch for the Ariane 4; only nine more Ariane 4 launches are planned before the booster is retired. The launch was also the eighth and last launch of the year for Arianespace. The next Arianespace launch, of the Indian Insat 3C spacecraft on an Ariane 4, is scheduled for January 16. The Ariane 5 is also scheduled to return to flight with the launch of ESA's Envisat remote sensing spacecraft in early 2002.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list