spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: November 26
Posted: Tue, Nov 27, 2001, 9:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
  • C. Patrick DeWitt has been named as the new president of Space Systems/Loral, Space News reported Monday. He will succeed John M. Klineberg, who is retiring from the satellite manufacturer. DeWitt had been the executive vice president of SS/L.
  • NASA will make an announcement today about an extrasolar planet discovery during a 1 pm EST (1800 GMT) news conference. SpaceRef reports that the announcement is likely about the planet previously discovered orbiting HD 209458, or newly-discovered planets orbiting the same star.
  • The 2001 Mars Odyssey spacecraft has encountered an unusual polar vortex around Mars's north pole, SPACE.com reported Monday. The vortex is creating lower than normal atmospheric pressure in the area, but has not adversely affected the aerobraking the spacecraft is performing in that region to gradually circularize its orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list