spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX tests Falcon 9 for upcoming launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 26, 2013, 6:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)
SpaceX performed a brief hot fire of the first stage engines of its latest Falcon 9 rocket on Monday in advance of a launch later this week of a cargo mission to the International Space Station. The nine Merlin engines in the Falcon 9's first stage fired for two seconds at 1:30 pm EST (1830 GMT) while the rocket was held down on the pad at Cape Canaveral. The test appeared successful, but company officials said the data collected from the test will be reviewed prior to proceeding with the launch. SpaceX is slated to launch that Falcon 9, carrying a Dragon cargo spacecraft, Friday morning on a mission to the ISS. It will be the second of 12 cargo flights the company is performing under a NASA contract.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Thursday, May 26
Watch NASA Inflate a New Room for the ISS Live
Popular Mechanics — 4:37 am ET (0837 GMT)
Rocket engine test will blast off at NASA’s Wallops Island facility
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 4:37 am ET (0837 GMT)
Icy moons cracked by short sharp tidal tugs: study
Cosmos Magazine — 4:30 am ET (0830 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list