spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Inmarsat satellite
Posted: Mon, Feb 2, 2015, 6:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
Proton M launch of Inmarsat-5F2 (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched the second in a new series of communications satellites for Inmarsat on Sunday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 7:31 am EST (1231 GMT, 6:31 pm local time) carrying the Inmarsat-5F2 satellite. The rocket's Breeze M upper stage released the satellite in a supersynchronous transfer orbit fifteen and a half hours liftoff. The Boeing-built spacecraft, weighing more than 6,000 kilograms at launch, carries a payload of Ka-band transponders to provide broadband communications services. The satellite will be stationed at 55 degrees west in GEO, and is the second of three planned Inmarsat-5 spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list