spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches South Korean satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 27, 2015, 2:50 PM ET (1850 GMT)
Dnepr launch of Kompsat-3A (KARI) A Dnepr rocket successfully launched a South Korean remote sensing satellite on Thursday. The Dnepr lifted off from the Yasny Launch Base in Russia at 6:08 pm EDT Wednesday (2208 GMT Wednesday, 3:08 am local time Thursday) carrying the Kompsat-3A satellite. The rocket placed Kompsat-3A into a sun-synchronous orbit at an altitude of about 500 kilometers. Kompsat-3A, developed by the Korea Aerospace Research Institute, weighted 1,100 kilograms at launch, and is designed to provide visible and infrared imagery. The future of the Dnepr was in doubt earlier this year because of tensions between Russia and Ukraine, but Dnepr's operator, Kosmotras, said this month it planned two more launches this year and several more in 2016 and 2017.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 24
Tory Bruno, the Other Rocket Man
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Eugene Parker’s Journey to the Sun
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Bezos offers moon to space agency
InnovationAus.com — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list