spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress cargo spacecraft spins out of control after launch
Posted: Wed, Apr 29, 2015, 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Progress M-27M (RSC Energia) A Progress cargo spacecraft started spinning out of control shortly after its launch Tuesday, and Russian officials were increasingly pessimistic about the prospects of restoring control. A Soyuz-2.1a rocket launched the Progress M-27M spacecraft from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 3:09 am EDT (0709 GMT) Tuesday. The launch appeared to go well, but shortly after the Progress reached orbit it started to spin out of control. Efforts to restore control of the spacecraft Tuesday and early Wednesday failed, and Russian officials now suggest the spacecraft may be lost. The spacecraft was carrying more than 2,700 kilograms of cargo for the station, including some backup hardware and clothing for NASA. None of the cargo was considered essential, and NASA said there is plenty of food, water, and other consumables on the station for its six-person crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list