spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Start-1 launches Swedish Odin spacecraft
Posted: Tue, Feb 20, 2001, 11:27 AM ET (1627 GMT)
Odin satellite illustration A former Russian ICBM successfully launched a Swedish scientific satellite early Tuesday. The Start-1 booster lifted off at 3:48 am EST (0848 GMT) from the launch site at Svobodny, Russia, and successfully placed into a 625-km orbit the Odin spacecraft. Odin will study the composition of both the Earth's atmosphere and astronomical objects for at least two years using spectrometer and radiometer instruments. The 250-kg Odin was built by the Swedish Space Corporation as part of a joint project of Sweden, Canada, Finland, and France. The Start-1 a booster based on the SS-25 ICBM, and was last used in December to launch the EROS A1 commercial remote sensing satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list