spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Study shows gas giants form rapidly
Posted: Mon, Dec 2 8:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
Gas giant planets like Jupiter may form in just hundreds of years, not the millions of years previously thought, scientists reported last week. In a...

Final STS-113 spacewalk a success despite transporter glitch
Posted: Sun, Dec 1 2:43 PM ET (1943 GMT)
Astronauts were able to complete the third and final spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Saturday despite a problem with a mobile transporter that...

EchoStar files revised DirecTV merger plan
Posted: Sat, Nov 30 3:34 PM ET (2034 GMT)
Direct television broadcasting operator EchoStar has filed with the FCC a revised offer to merge with competitor DirecTV that the companies hope will overcome the...

Expedition Six officially takes over ISS
Posted: Sat, Nov 30 3:25 PM ET (2025 GMT)
The three-man Expedition Six crew formally took over control of the International Space Station in a ceremony Friday afternoon. During a change-of-command...

Ariane 5 launch aborted in final seconds
Posted: Fri, Nov 29 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)
The inaugural launch of an upgraded version of the Ariane 5 launch vehicle was aborted just seconds before liftoff Thursday. The Ariane 5 ESC-A...

Astronauts complete second STS-113 spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Nov 29 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
Two astronauts successfully completed the second of three spacewalks scheduled for the STS-113 shuttle mission on Thursday. John Herrington and Michael Lopez-Alegria spent...

Astra 1K orbit raised
Posted: Thu, Nov 28 1:21 PM ET (1821 GMT)
Spacecraft controllers have raised the orbit of Astra 1K, the communications satellite stranded in LEO after a Proton upper stage failure Tuesday, in an effort...

Kosmos launches two satellites
Posted: Thu, Nov 28 12:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)
A Kosmos booster launched two small satellites into low Earth orbit early Thursday. The Kosmos-3M lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia...

TransOrbital signs launch contract for commercial lunar mission
Posted: Thu, Nov 28 12:28 PM ET (1728 GMT)
TransOrbital, a California company developing the first commercial lunar mission, announced this week that it has signed a launch contract with Russian company Kosmotras. The...

Northrop to complete TRW merger next month
Posted: Wed, Nov 27 7:48 PM ET (0048 GMT)
Northrop Grumman announced Wednesday that the company plans to complete its merger with fellow aerospace and defense company TRW next month after winning provisional approval...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list