spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report: NASA making station evacuation plans
Posted: Wed, Nov 27 2:01 PM ET (1901 GMT)
NASA is preparing plans to operate the International Space Station should Russian funding shortfalls force the evacuation of its long-duration crew, MSNBC reported Tuesday....

Astronauts install station truss segment
Posted: Wed, Nov 27 10:27 AM ET (1527 GMT)
Space shuttle Endeavour astronauts successfully installed a new truss segment for the International Space Station on Tuesday. Astronauts used the robot arms on the shuttle...

Proton failure strands satellite in LEO
Posted: Tue, Nov 26 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
A failure of the upper stage of a Proton launched Monday evening has stranded a European communications satellite in a low parking orbit that is...

Galileo tape recorder still offline
Posted: Tue, Nov 26 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)
The Galileo spacecraft has returned to normal operations but its data recorder is still malfunctioning, project officials announced Monday. Galileo went into safe mode 16...

Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Nov 25 9:05 PM ET (0205 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour successfully docked with the International Space Station Monday afternoon. Endeavour docked with the Destiny module of ISS at 4:59 pm...

Endeavour lifts off
Posted: Sun, Nov 24 1:40 AM ET (0640 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour successfully launched Saturday evening on a mission to the International Space Station. Endeavour lifted off from pad 39A at 7:49:...

Overseas weather scrubs shuttle launch
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 12:02 AM ET (0502 GMT)
The launch of the space shuttle Endeavour was delayed 24 hours Friday night because of poor weather at two transatlantic landing sites. NASA had hoped...

Shuttle launch time announced
Posted: Fri, Nov 22 12:03 AM ET (0503 GMT)
NASA announced Thursday night that the space shuttle Endeavour will lift off at 8:15 pm EST Friday night (0115 GMT) on the STS-113...

NASA funds X-37 flight test
Posted: Thu, Nov 21 12:17 PM ET (1717 GMT)
NASA announced late Wednesday that it has awarded Boeing a $301 million contract to continue work on the X-37 experimental vehicle leading up to...

New study lowers odds of asteroid impact
Posted: Thu, Nov 21 11:01 AM ET (1601 GMT)
A powerful impact like the one nearly a century ago in Siberia may take place on average just once a millennium, according to research published...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list