spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle cleared for Friday night launch
Posted: Thu, Nov 21 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
Shuttle managers decided Wednesday night to proceed with plans to launch the space shuttle Endeavour Friday evening. At the meeting, managers concluded that the damage...

Delta 4 first launch a success
Posted: Wed, Nov 20 7:28 PM ET (0028 GMT)
Boeing's Delta 4 launch vehicle successfully carried out its inaugural flight Wednesday evening, placing a European communications satellite into orbit. The Delta 4 Medium-...

Countdown restarted for STS-113 launch
Posted: Wed, Nov 20 1:25 PM ET (1825 GMT)
NASA restarted the countdown late Tuesday night for the launch of the shuttle Endeavour, but shuttle managers have yet to make a final decision regarding...

Two supermassive black holes found in same galaxy
Posted: Wed, Nov 20 8:35 AM ET (1335 GMT)
Astronomers announced Tuesday that they have discovered for the first time two supermassive black holes in the same galaxy, objects that will likely collide in...

Delta 4 launch delayed
Updated: Wed, Nov 20 7:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Nov 19 7:45 PM ET (0045 GMT)
The inaugural launch of Boeing's Delta 4 booster was scrubbed Tuesday evening after a series of problems prevented the booster from lifting off during...

Commission recommends creation of "space imperative"
Posted: Tue, Nov 19 10:36 AM ET (1536 GMT)
The final report of a government commission recommends that the US create a "space imperative" to bolster the nation's aerospace industry. The report by...

Delta 4 cleared for Tuesday launch
Posted: Tue, Nov 19 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
Boeing announced late Monday that they plan to move ahead with plans to launch the inaugural Delta 4 rocket on Tuesday evening. The launch, previously...

Shuttle inches closer to Friday launch
Posted: Tue, Nov 19 8:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
NASA plans to restart the countdown for the launch of the space shuttle Endeavour late Tuesday night even though no final decision has been made...

Astronomers find "runaway" black hole
Posted: Mon, Nov 18 2:04 PM ET (1904 GMT)
The discovery of a fast-moving black hole has given astronomers their best evidence yet linking black holes with supernovae. Astronomers used Hubble Space Telescope...

Shuttle launch delayed until November 22
Posted: Sat, Nov 16 11:30 AM ET (1630 GMT)
NASA officials announced Friday night that the launch of the shuttle Endeavour would be delayed four more days, until November 22, to continue work on...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list