spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 10:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
China launched a weather satellite Tuesday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 9:07 a.m. Eastern and placed the Fengyun-2H satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The 1.4-ton satellite is the eighth and final satellite in the older Fengyun-2 series of spin-stabilized weather satellites, and will operate from 86.5 degrees east when it enters service.


Tiangong-1 reenters over South Pacific
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
China's Tiangong-1 module reentered on the night of April 1 over the South Pacific. The module reentered at 8:16 pm EDT (0016 GMT April 2) while over the South Pacific, according to a statement by the U.S. Air Force's Joint Force Space Component Command, approximately the same time as reported by the China Manned Space Engineering Office. There were no reports of anyone observing the reentry, which took place not far from a remote region of the South Pacific used for deliberate spacecraft reentries. The uncontrolled reentry of Tiangong-1 was met with some concern as pieces of the 8.5-ton spacecraft were expected to survive reentry and reach the surface.





Monday, June 25

Friday, June 22

Thursday, June 21
US-China space race puts moon back into the spotlight
Nikkei Asian Review — 4:26 am ET (0926 GMT)

Wednesday, June 20

Tuesday, June 19
Space tourism not far off, rocket maker says
China Daily — 4:02 am ET (0902 GMT)
China poised to orbit pair of BeiDou-3 navigation satellites
SpaceFlight Insider — 3:42 am ET (0842 GMT)

Monday, June 18

Sunday, June 17

Saturday, June 16

Friday, June 15

Thursday, June 14

Wednesday, June 13

Wednesday, June 6

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE