spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
Long March 5 launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 9 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Long March 5 launch of Shijian-18 (Xinhua) The second launch of China's Long March 5 heavy-lift rocket ended in failure July 2. The rocket lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center on the island of Hainan at 7:23 am EDT (1123 GMT) and initially appeared to go as planned. About 45 minutes after liftoff, though, Chinese media reported that the launch had failed, but did not provide additional information. Some observers of in-flight video noticed a plume of gas from one of the engines in the core stage of the rocket more than five minutes after liftoff, suggesting a malfunction of the engine. The rocket's payload was Shijian-18, a large experimental communications satellite. The rocket's next flight was planned for November, carrying the Chang'e-5 lunar sample return mission.


China wins order for Indonesian satellite
Posted: Sun, May 21 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
China Great Wall and Palapa Satelit Nusantara Sejahtera, an Indonesian joint venture, signed a contract May 17 in Jakarta for the Palapa-N1 spacecraft. Palapa-N1 will carry a Ku-band payload and replace Palapa-D, whose orbital lifetime was limited when the Long March rocket that launched it in 2009 underperformed. The companies also announced a non-binding agreement for a Ka-band satellite, PSN-7.





Wednesday, November 22
China Isn't Winning the Race for Space
Bloomberg News — 12:07 am ET (0607 GMT)

Tuesday, November 21
Long March 6 launches Jilin-1 trio
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 11:37 pm ET (0537 GMT)

Monday, November 20

Sunday, November 19

Saturday, November 18

Thursday, November 16

Wednesday, November 15
Long March 4C sends Fengyun-3D and Head-1 into orbit
SpaceFlight Insider — 2:22 am ET (0822 GMT)
Long March 4C launches Fengyun-3D and HEAD-1 co-passenger
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 2:14 am ET (0814 GMT)
Chinese weather satellite launched into polar orbit
Spaceflight Now — 2:09 am ET (0809 GMT)

Monday, November 13
CASC Plans Space Launch From Ship, Then Spaceplane
Aviation Week — 6:23 pm ET (0023 GMT)
What Happens If China Makes First Contact?
The Atlantic — 3:59 am ET (0959 GMT)

Saturday, November 11

Friday, November 10
China’s Tiangong 1 Space Station to Burn Up
Sky & Telescope — 5:06 pm ET (2306 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE