spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Dec 20 12:17 PM ET (1817 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of DAMPE (Xinhua) China launched a satellite Thursday to search for dark matter. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 7:12 pm EST Wednesday (0012 GMT, 8:12 am Beijing time Thursday) and placed the Dark Matter Particle Explorer (DAMPE) satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit. The spacecraft, also known as Wukong, will study cosmic rays, seeking potential signatures of dark matter.


China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Dec 12 9:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Chinasat-1C (Xinhua) China launched a military communications satellite early Thursday. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:46 am EST Wednesday (1646 GMT Wednesday, 12:46 am Beijing time Thurdday) and placed the Chinasat-1C satellite into orbit. The satellite is thought to be the second in a series of tactical military communications satellites operating in geostationary orbit.





Monday, February 8

Friday, February 5

Wednesday, February 3
China's lunar lander images from the moon released
Orlando Sentinel — 7:11 pm ET (0111 GMT)

Tuesday, February 2
Chinese Astronauts Returning To Space In 2016
Aviation Week — 6:40 pm ET (0040 GMT)
Columbia space shuttle remains arrive in Israel
Arutz Sheva — 3:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
Successful launch expands China’s Beidou navigation system
Spaceflight Now — 3:15 am ET (0915 GMT)

Monday, February 1
China shares vivid photos of the moon's surface with the world. Why now?
Christian Science Monitor — 7:01 pm ET (0101 GMT)
Long March 3C launches final Beidou-3 satellite
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 3:19 am ET (0919 GMT)

Friday, January 29
The dragon reorganizes for space
Space News — 3:53 am ET (0953 GMT)

Thursday, January 28

Wednesday, January 20
Long March 7, 5 First Flights Set For June-October
Aviation Week — 6:46 am ET (1246 GMT)

Monday, January 18

Saturday, January 16
China to debut new carrier rockets
Xinhua — 6:01 am ET (1201 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE