spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches navigation satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 2:20 PM ET (1820 GMT)
Long March 3B Beidou launch, July 2015 (Xinhua) China launched a pair of Beidou navigation satellites July 25. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 8:29 am EDT (1229 GMT, 8:29 pm Beijing time) July 25 and placed the two satellites into medium Earth orbit. The satellites are part of the third phase of the country's navigation system, expanding its coverage from its current regional scope to a global one.


China launches Earth imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 9:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed what Chinese officials said was a civil remote sensing satellite into orbit Friday. The Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 2:22 am EDT (0622 GMT, 2:22 pm Beijing time) Friday and placed the Gaofen-8 satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit. The satellite is said to provide high-resolution images for civilian applications, although earlier reports about the Gaofen system said it would consist of only seven satellites. The launch was not announced in advance by the Chinese government.





Tuesday, August 4
China to launch Jilin-1 satellite in Oct.
Xinhua — 5:11 am ET (0911 GMT)
For the first time Chinese research to fly on NASA's space station
Houston Chronicle — 4:44 am ET (0844 GMT)

Monday, August 3

Saturday, August 1

Monday, July 27
China launches two satellites for its BeiDou navigation system
SpaceFlight Insider — 6:07 am ET (1007 GMT)

Sunday, July 26
Chinese Long March 3B launches dual Beidou mission
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)
Two navigation satellites launched by China
Spaceflight Now — 6:54 am ET (1054 GMT)

Friday, July 24
China tests new carrier rocket
Xinhua — 6:41 pm ET (2241 GMT)

Saturday, July 18
China Eyes Purchase of Sea Launch Assets
Space News — 7:49 am ET (1149 GMT)

Friday, July 17

Wednesday, July 15

Sunday, July 12

Monday, July 6

Tuesday, June 30

Monday, June 29
China launches Gaofen-8 Earth-observing satellite
SpaceFlight Insider — 9:39 pm ET (0139 GMT)

Sunday, June 28
China sends up remote sensing satellite
Spaceflight Now — 7:43 am ET (1143 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE