spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 6:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
China launched a communications satellite Marhc 9. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:28 am EDT (1528 GMT) and placed the ChinaSat-6C satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The satellite carries a C-band payload to provide communications services from 130 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the 300th for the Long March family of rockets, dating back to China's first orbital launch in 1970.


China launches Chang'e-4 lunar lander mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 11:33 AM ET (1733 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Change-4 (CASC) China launched its latest mission to the moon December 7. The Long March 3B rocket carrying the Chang'e-4 spacecraft lifted off at 1:23 pm EST Friday (1828 GMT Friday, 2:23 am Beijing time December 8) from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center, placing the spacecraft on a trajectory to the moon. The spacecraft will enter orbit around the moon with a landing on the far side of the moon expected to take place in early January. If successful, it will be China's second lunar lander and the first mission by any country to land on the lunar farside.





Monday, March 18
China Launched Its 300th Long March Rocket This Month
SPACE.com — 3:37 am ET (0837 GMT)

Friday, March 15

Wednesday, March 13

Tuesday, March 12

Monday, March 11

Sunday, March 10
China returns from Spring break with Zhongxing-6C launch
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 7:55 am ET (1255 GMT)
China launches new communication satellite
Xinhua — 7:45 am ET (1245 GMT)

Friday, March 8
Spacewatch: ESA and China plan new sun-Earth mission
The Guardian — 3:08 am ET (0908 GMT)

Wednesday, March 6

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE