spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
Long March 5 launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 9 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Long March 5 launch of Shijian-18 (Xinhua) The second launch of China's Long March 5 heavy-lift rocket ended in failure July 2. The rocket lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center on the island of Hainan at 7:23 am EDT (1123 GMT) and initially appeared to go as planned. About 45 minutes after liftoff, though, Chinese media reported that the launch had failed, but did not provide additional information. Some observers of in-flight video noticed a plume of gas from one of the engines in the core stage of the rocket more than five minutes after liftoff, suggesting a malfunction of the engine. The rocket's payload was Shijian-18, a large experimental communications satellite. The rocket's next flight was planned for November, carrying the Chang'e-5 lunar sample return mission.


China wins order for Indonesian satellite
Posted: Sun, May 21 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
China Great Wall and Palapa Satelit Nusantara Sejahtera, an Indonesian joint venture, signed a contract May 17 in Jakarta for the Palapa-N1 spacecraft. Palapa-N1 will carry a Ku-band payload and replace Palapa-D, whose orbital lifetime was limited when the Long March rocket that launched it in 2009 underperformed. The companies also announced a non-binding agreement for a Ka-band satellite, PSN-7.





Wednesday, October 18
Lawmakers say China building 'unfriendly navy in space'
Huntsville Times — 5:30 am ET (1030 GMT)

Tuesday, October 17

Monday, October 16

Saturday, October 14

Friday, October 13
CMC holds ceremony to honor astronauts
Xinhua — 4:53 am ET (0953 GMT)

Wednesday, October 11

Monday, October 9
Chinese Long March 2D launches VRSS-2
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:11 am ET (0911 GMT)
China Launches Third Remote Sensing Satellite for Venezuela – Reports
Sputnik International — 4:06 am ET (0906 GMT)

Saturday, October 7

Thursday, October 5
Chinese State Launch Group Contracts Out Fabrication
Aviation Week — 6:44 pm ET (2344 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE