spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 10:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
China launched a weather satellite Tuesday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 9:07 a.m. Eastern and placed the Fengyun-2H satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The 1.4-ton satellite is the eighth and final satellite in the older Fengyun-2 series of spin-stabilized weather satellites, and will operate from 86.5 degrees east when it enters service.


Tiangong-1 reenters over South Pacific
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
China's Tiangong-1 module reentered on the night of April 1 over the South Pacific. The module reentered at 8:16 pm EDT (0016 GMT April 2) while over the South Pacific, according to a statement by the U.S. Air Force's Joint Force Space Component Command, approximately the same time as reported by the China Manned Space Engineering Office. There were no reports of anyone observing the reentry, which took place not far from a remote region of the South Pacific used for deliberate spacecraft reentries. The uncontrolled reentry of Tiangong-1 was met with some concern as pieces of the 8.5-ton spacecraft were expected to survive reentry and reach the surface.





Monday, October 15
China launches twin BeiDou-3 satellites
Xinhua — 4:28 am ET (0928 GMT)
Long March 3B launch conducts China’s 28th launch of the year
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:28 am ET (0928 GMT)

Sunday, October 14

Saturday, October 13
Two satellites with secretive missions launched by China
Spaceflight Now — 7:55 am ET (1255 GMT)

Friday, October 12

Thursday, October 11

Wednesday, October 10
Long March 2C launches Yaogan Weixing-32 Group-1
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:26 am ET (0926 GMT)

Tuesday, October 9
China launches new remote sensing satellites
Xinhua — 3:07 am ET (0807 GMT)
China To Test Methane Expander Rocket Engine
Aviation Week — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE