spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 10:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
China launched a weather satellite Tuesday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 9:07 a.m. Eastern and placed the Fengyun-2H satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The 1.4-ton satellite is the eighth and final satellite in the older Fengyun-2 series of spin-stabilized weather satellites, and will operate from 86.5 degrees east when it enters service.


Tiangong-1 reenters over South Pacific
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
China's Tiangong-1 module reentered on the night of April 1 over the South Pacific. The module reentered at 8:16 pm EDT (0016 GMT April 2) while over the South Pacific, according to a statement by the U.S. Air Force's Joint Force Space Component Command, approximately the same time as reported by the China Manned Space Engineering Office. There were no reports of anyone observing the reentry, which took place not far from a remote region of the South Pacific used for deliberate spacecraft reentries. The uncontrolled reentry of Tiangong-1 was met with some concern as pieces of the 8.5-ton spacecraft were expected to survive reentry and reach the surface.





Saturday, August 18

Friday, August 17
China’s Chang’e 4 Moon Mission Slated For December
Aviation Week — 5:01 am ET (1001 GMT)

Thursday, August 16

Wednesday, August 15

Tuesday, August 14

Wednesday, August 8

Sunday, August 5
Chinese rockets models on display in Malaysia
Xinhua — 7:49 am ET (1249 GMT)

Friday, August 3
Landspace of China to launch first rocket in Q4 2018
Space News — 3:07 am ET (0807 GMT)

Thursday, August 2

Wednesday, August 1
Long March 4B lofts Gaofen-11
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:16 am ET (0916 GMT)
China Space Group Casc Working On Small Launcher
Aviation Week — 3:45 am ET (0845 GMT)

Tuesday, July 31

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE