spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 10:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
China launched a weather satellite Tuesday. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 9:07 a.m. Eastern and placed the Fengyun-2H satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The 1.4-ton satellite is the eighth and final satellite in the older Fengyun-2 series of spin-stabilized weather satellites, and will operate from 86.5 degrees east when it enters service.


Tiangong-1 reenters over South Pacific
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
China's Tiangong-1 module reentered on the night of April 1 over the South Pacific. The module reentered at 8:16 pm EDT (0016 GMT April 2) while over the South Pacific, according to a statement by the U.S. Air Force's Joint Force Space Component Command, approximately the same time as reported by the China Manned Space Engineering Office. There were no reports of anyone observing the reentry, which took place not far from a remote region of the South Pacific used for deliberate spacecraft reentries. The uncontrolled reentry of Tiangong-1 was met with some concern as pieces of the 8.5-ton spacecraft were expected to survive reentry and reach the surface.





Saturday, July 21
Some Scientists Work With China, but NASA Won't
Wired News — 2:53 am ET (0753 GMT)

Friday, July 20
China's super-sized space plans may involve help from Russia
Popular Science — 12:28 am ET (0528 GMT)

Tuesday, July 17

Sunday, July 15
China’s OneSpace Counts Down To Market Entry
AINonline — 2:31 pm ET (1931 GMT)

Friday, July 13
China's FAST telescope identifies 43 pulsars
Xinhua — 3:30 am ET (0830 GMT)
Long March 9 Will Be Bigger Than SLS
Aviation Week — 2:44 am ET (0744 GMT)

Wednesday, July 11
China unveils plans for two new gravitational-wave missions
Physics World — 8:07 pm ET (0107 GMT)
Feature: Love navigated by Beidou
Xinhua — 4:32 am ET (0932 GMT)
Chinese navigation satellite deployed by Long March rocket
Spaceflight Now — 4:23 am ET (0923 GMT)

Tuesday, July 10
China launches new Beidou navigation satellite
Xinhua — 4:33 am ET (0933 GMT)
Long March 2C orbits two Earth-observing satellites for Pakistan
SpaceFlight Insider — 4:07 am ET (0907 GMT)
Long March 2C launches two satellites for Pakistan
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:01 am ET (0901 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE