spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
Tiangong-1 reenters over South Pacific
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
China's Tiangong-1 module reentered on the night of April 1 over the South Pacific. The module reentered at 8:16 pm EDT (0016 GMT April 2) while over the South Pacific, according to a statement by the U.S. Air Force's Joint Force Space Component Command, approximately the same time as reported by the China Manned Space Engineering Office. There were no reports of anyone observing the reentry, which took place not far from a remote region of the South Pacific used for deliberate spacecraft reentries. The uncontrolled reentry of Tiangong-1 was met with some concern as pieces of the 8.5-ton spacecraft were expected to survive reentry and reach the surface.


China launches three remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 7:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
China launched a trio of Earth-observation satellites March 30. The Long March 4C lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 11:22 pm EDT (0322 GMT March 31) and placed three Gaofen-1 satellites into orbit. They join another Gaofen-1 satellite launched in 2013 to provide imagery at a resolution of up to 2 meters. The launch was the tenth this year for China.





Thursday, May 24

Wednesday, May 23
China launches ‘Queqiao’ lunar satellite
Physics World — 4:29 am ET (0929 GMT)

Tuesday, May 22
Radio Experiment Launches With China’s Moon Orbiter
Sky & Telescope — 4:57 am ET (0957 GMT)
China launch will prep for Moon landing
BBC — 4:35 am ET (0935 GMT)

Monday, May 21
Long March 4C sends Chang’e 4 relay satellite toward Moon
SpaceFlight Insider — 5:00 am ET (1000 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE