spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches two satellites within 24 hours
Posted: Fri, Nov 21 6:40 AM ET (1140 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of Yaogan-24 (Xinhua) Two Chinese launches placed into orbit Earth observation and disaster monitoring satellites in less than 24 hours on Thursday and Friday. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiquan Satellite Launch Center in China at 2:12 am EST (0712 GMT, 3:12 pm Beijing time) Thursday and placed the Yaogan-24 satellite into orbit. The satellite, launched less than a week after Yaogan-23, is reported to be used for civil remote sensing and scientific experiments, but is widely perceived in the West to be a military reconnaissance satellite. At 1:37 am EST (0637 GMT, 2:37 pm Beijing time) Friday, a Kuaizhou rocket placed the Kuaizhou-2 satellite into orbit. The satellite is said by Chinese media to provide information on natural disasters. The Kuaizhou rocket is a small solid-fuel vehicle based on a ballistic missile.


China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 15 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
Long March 2C launch of Yaogan-23 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed a Chinese Earth imaging satellite into orbit on Saturday. The Long March 2C rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 1:53 pm EST Friday (1853 GMT Friday, 2:53 am Beijing time Saturday) and placed the Yaogan-23 satellite into orbit. Chinese media said the satellite will be used for civil remote sensing and scientific experiments, but Western observers believe the satellite will be used for military reconnaissance. The launch was not announced in advance by Chinese officials.





Saturday, November 22
Beijing edges ahead in the space race
Deutsche Welle — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)

Friday, November 21
China launches for the second time in 24 hours
Spaceflight Now — 6:24 pm ET (2324 GMT)
China Successfully Launches Second Disaster Relief Satellite
Sputnik International — 5:27 pm ET (2227 GMT)
China launches new disaster monitoring satellite
Xinhua — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
China launches Kuaizhou-2 in second launch within 24 hours
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 5:30 am ET (1030 GMT)

Thursday, November 20
Long March 2D lofts Yaogan Weixing-24 for China
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 8:02 pm ET (0102 GMT)
Spy satellite launched to serve Chinese government
Spaceflight Now — 7:57 pm ET (0057 GMT)

Wednesday, November 19

Tuesday, November 18
China's space law ready for lift off
AsiaOne — 7:51 am ET (1251 GMT)
Chinese military satellite launched by Long March rocket
Spaceflight Now — 7:00 am ET (1200 GMT)

Monday, November 17

Saturday, November 15
China launches new remote sensing satellite
Xinhua — 9:02 am ET (1402 GMT)
Long March 2C conducts surprise Yaogan-23 launch
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 9:01 am ET (1401 GMT)
China Launches New Surveillance Satellite Saturday
Sputnik International — 8:40 am ET (1340 GMT)

Friday, November 14
Tencent looks to the final travel frontier
China Daily — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)
ATV-5 helps ISS dodge Chinese space debris
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 6:23 am ET (1123 GMT)
China’s Deceptively Weak Anti-Satellite Capabilities
The Diplomat — 6:01 am ET (1101 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE