spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China launches Earth imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 9:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed what Chinese officials said was a civil remote sensing satellite into orbit Friday. The Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 2:22 am EDT (0622 GMT, 2:22 pm Beijing time) Friday and placed the Gaofen-8 satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit. The satellite is said to provide high-resolution images for civilian applications, although earlier reports about the Gaofen system said it would consist of only seven satellites. The launch was not announced in advance by the Chinese government.


China launches next-generation navigation satellite
Posted: Thu, Apr 2 9:14 AM ET (1314 GMT)
Long March 3C launch of Beidou satellite, March 2015 (Xinhua) A Chinese Long March rocket placed a next-generation navigation satellite into orbit on Monday. The Long March 3C rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 9:52 am EDT (1352 GMT, 9:52 pm Beijing time) Monday carrying a new Beidou navigation satellite. Chinese officials said the satellite is the first in a new generation of navigation satellites, featuring new signals and intersatellite links, as China expands its Beidou system from a regional to a global system. The launch also featured the use of a new upper stage on the Long March.





Monday, June 29
China launches Gaofen-8 Earth-observing satellite
SpaceFlight Insider — 9:39 pm ET (0139 GMT)

Sunday, June 28
China sends up remote sensing satellite
Spaceflight Now — 7:43 am ET (1143 GMT)

Friday, June 26
Chinese Long March 4B conducts surprise Gaofen-8 launch
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 6:14 am ET (1014 GMT)

Thursday, June 25

Wednesday, June 24

Monday, June 22
China's super "eye" to speed up space rendezvous
Xinhua — 4:56 am ET (0856 GMT)

Wednesday, June 17
China's space program could completely crush its competition
Business Insider — 5:02 am ET (0902 GMT)

Sunday, June 14

Friday, June 12

Thursday, June 11

Monday, June 8
China launches space junk monitoring center
Xinhua — 9:13 pm ET (0113 GMT)

Friday, June 5
China, Europe announce joint satellite mission
Xinhua — 5:40 am ET (0940 GMT)
Russia, China Plan to Equip Commercial Trucks With Glonass, BeiDou
Sputnik International — 5:02 am ET (0902 GMT)

Tuesday, June 2
China to launch its first dark matter probe by the end of 2015
SpaceFlight Insider — 8:04 pm ET (0004 GMT)

Saturday, May 30

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE