spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Thu, Apr 27, 2006, 6:15 AM ET (1015 GMT)
Long March 4B launch of Yaogan 1 (Xinhua) A Long March booster launched a Chinese remote sensing satellite on Thursday. The Long March 4B lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 5:48 pm EDT Wednesday (2148 GMT Wednesday, 6:48 am Thursday Beijing time). It placed into sun-synchronous orbit a spacecraft identified as Remote Sensing Satellite No. 1 or Yaogan 1. The spacecraft, which weighs 2,700 kilograms, will be used for scientific and land resources applications, according to official Chinese media reports. The launch, which was not announced in advance of Thursday's liftoff, was the first this year for the Chinese space program.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 25


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list