spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches NASA astronomy satellite
Posted: Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 2:05 PM ET (1905 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of WISE (NASA/KSC) A Delta 2 successfully placed a NASA astronomy satellite into orbit on Monday. The Delta 2 7320-10C lifted off from SLC-2 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 9:09 am EST (1409 GMT) and placed the Wide-Field Infrared Survey Explorer (WISE) spacecraft into a sun-synchronous orbit. The launch had been scheduled for last week but was delayed by a technical problem with the rocket as well as poor weather at the launch site. WISE is designed to perform a full sky survey at infrared wavelengths, observing objects ranging from nearby asteroids to distant galaxies. It will begin scientific observations after completing a month-long on-orbit checkout.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list