spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches X-37
Posted: Fri, Apr 23, 2010, 7:01 AM ET (1101 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of X-37B (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket launched a secretive military spaceplane Thursday evening. The Atlas 5 501 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 7:52 pm EDT (2352 GMT) and placed the X-37B vehicle into low Earth orbit about 20 minutes later. The X-37B, also called the Orbital Test Vehicle, is an unmanned "mini-shuttle" designed to test various unspecified technologies and then reenter, gliding to a runway landing in California. The X-37 was initially a NASA program to demonstrate RLV technologies, but later transferred to DARPA and then the Air Force, which has released few details about the vehicle and its mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 3
Sunil Mittal’s Bharti Enterprises emerges top bidder for UK’s OneWeb
The Hindu Business Line — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Why has the UK invested $500m in OneWeb's satellites?
The Daily Telegraph — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list