spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Dec 21, 2019, 11:43 PM ET (0443 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched a communications satellite Monday that will serve two customers. A Falcon 9 lifted off at 7:10 pm EST (0010 GMT Tuesday) from Cape Canaveral, Florida, and 33 minutes later placed the JCSAT-18/Kacific-1 satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. JCSAT-18/Kacific-1 is a 6,800-kilogram "condosat" built by Boeing, with payloads for Japanese operator Sky Perfect JSAT and Singaporean startup Kacific. The Falcon 9's first stage, making its third flight, landed on a droneship downrange, but two other ships were unable to catch the rocket's payload fairing.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 24
Space Force establishes the first of three field commands
Military Times — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Colorado's case to house U.S. Space Command grows even stronger
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Raymond building culture of urgency into new Space Force
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:15 am ET (1315 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list