spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches experimental 5G communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 8:41 PM ET (0141 GMT)
China launched an experimental 5G communications satellite Wednesday night. A Kuaizhou-1A solid launch vehicle lifted off from a mobile platform at the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 10:02 pm EST (0302 GMT Thursday) and placed the Yinhe-1 (Galaxy-1) technology verification satellite into low Earth orbit. The satellite, developed by Chinese company Galaxy Space, is expected to test Q/V- and Ka-band communications at up to 10 gigabits per second. The satellite is part of plans to establish a global 5G constellation based on the "low-cost, high-performance" Galaxy-1 small satellite platform.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list