spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


O'Keefe disapproved handling of CLCS shutdown
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 7:56 PM ET (2356 GMT)
NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe said Wednesday that he was disappointed in the way employees at the Kennedy Space Center were told this week that...

NRC report criticizes ISS science
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 10:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)
A report issued Wednesday by the National Research Council sharply criticized the scientific plans of the International Space Station, noting that the orbiting facility currently...

Astronomers detect water on exoplanets
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
Astronomers announced this week that they have detected evidence of water in the atmospheres of several extrasolar planets. Italian scientists used a radio telescope to...

Middleweight black holes discovered
Posted: Thu, Sep 19 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
Astronomers have found evidence for medium-size black holes in the centers of globular clusters. Hubble Space Telescope observations confirmed that a black hole with...

Atlas 2AS launches Hispasat
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 10:44 PM ET (0244 GMT)
An Atlas 2AS successfully launched a Hispasat communications satellite Wednesday evening. The Atlas 2AS lifted off from pad 36A at Cape Canaveral, Florida on schedule...

New "moon" likely space junk
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 6:21 PM ET (2221 GMT)
Astronomers have found evidence that a newly-discovered object in a distant orbit around the Earth is most likely a spent upper stage or other...

Northrop/TRW merger moves closer to approval
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 6:15 PM ET (2215 GMT)
Northrop Grumman officials said Tuesday that their merger with TRW is on track for approval after submitting documentation with American and European regulators. The company...

Report: new life for Bass space tourist bid
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
Lance Bass's efforts to fly to the International Space Station as a tourist may have been revived after being written off earlier this month,...

NASA confirms October 2 STS-112 launch date
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 7:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers said Tuesday that they have selected October 2 as the launch date for the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-112. Shuttle officials...

Astronomers discover 100th exoplanet
Posted: Wed, Sep 18 7:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
Astronomers announced Tuesday that they have discovered what they believe is the 100th extrasolar planet. The planet, 1.2 times the mass of Jupiter, has...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list