spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 11:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)
A Progress cargo spacecraft successfully docked with the International Space Station on Sunday. The spacecraft, known as Progress M1-9 by Russia and Progress 9...

Microbes could exist in Venusian atmosphere
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
Two scientists believe that microbes could exist in water droplets found high in the atmosphere of Venus, New Scientist reported this week. The German and...

National dispute delays Galileo start
Posted: Mon, Sep 30 7:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
A dispute between two European nations continues to delay the start of the Galileo satellite navigation program, Reuters reported last week. Half of the Galileo...

Planetary wobble affects Martian climate
Posted: Sat, Sep 28 12:21 PM ET (1621 GMT)
Scientists have found evidence that the wobble, or change in tilt, of Mars has an affect on its climate. A team of US and French...

Alcatel wins Chinese satellite contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 28 12:01 PM ET (1601 GMT)
Alcatel Space announced Friday that it has won a contract to build the payload for a Chinese communications satellite. Alcatel said it will provide the...

Kosmos launches navigation satellite
Posted: Fri, Sep 27 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)
A Russian Kosmos booster successfully launched a navigation satellite Thursday. The Kosmos-3M booster lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 11:...

Astronaut Hall of Fame acquired by KSC visitors center
Posted: Fri, Sep 27 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
The Astronaut Hall of Fame, one of two Florida properties sold at auction earlier this week, has been acquired by the company that operates the...

French government cuts CNES budget
Posted: Fri, Sep 27 10:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
The French government plans to reduce the budget of its space agency, CNES, by nearly 2.7 percent in 2003, raising concerns about its ability...

MUSES-C launch delayed
Posted: Thu, Sep 26 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
The launch of Japan's MUSES-C asteroid mission has been delayed from late this year until May because of a spacecraft problem, Space News...

Russian official suggests mothballing ISS
Posted: Thu, Sep 26 7:53 AM ET (1153 GMT)
A leading Russian official said Wednesday that the International Space Station should be temporarily abandoned due to budget constraints. Former cosmonaut Valeri Ryumin of RSC...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list