spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Orbital tightens belt, looks for new X-34 partner
Posted: Tue, Apr 17 2:51 PM ET (1851 GMT)
Orbital Sciences Corporation, facing huge losses, said Tuesday it will accelerate plans to streamline the company by shedding non-core businesses. The company reported a...

STS-100 countdown begins
Posted: Tue, Apr 17 9:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)
The countdown towards Thursday's launch of the space shuttle Endeavour began Monday evening. Countdown clocks started at the T-43 hour mark at 6...

Sun produces another powerful solar flare
Posted: Sun, Apr 15 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)
A powerful solar flare recorded Sunday should not pose a major threat to the Earth despite being one of the strongest ever recorded. The flare...

Final decision on Tito's flight to be made Tuesday
Posted: Sat, Apr 14 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)
A final decision regarding whether California businessman Dennis Tito will be a member of a Soyuz crew to fly to the International Space Station later...

X-40A completes second NASA drop test
Posted: Fri, Apr 13 1:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)
The X-40A, a prototype of an experimental reusable spacecraft, completed its second NASA-run drop test in California Thursday. The vehicle was released from...

Report: Air Force may revive X-33
Posted: Fri, Apr 13 10:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)
The Air Force is considering funding continued development of the X-33 as a prototype for a military space plane, the Washington Post reported Friday....

Happy Cosmonautics Day and STS-1 anniversary!
Posted: Thu, Apr 12 11:03 AM ET (1503 GMT)
Thursday marks a pair of major anniversaries in the history of space flight: the 40th anniversary of the first manned space flight by Yuri Gagarin,...

Planetary Society solar sail project suffers setback
Posted: Wed, Apr 11 7:00 PM ET (2300 GMT)
The first test flight of a solar sail will be delayed for an unspecified period because of a testing mishap, the Planetary Society announced Wednesday....

Russia approves Tito space flight
Posted: Wed, Apr 11 10:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
Russian officials gave their approval Wednesday for California businessman Dennis Tito to fly to the International Space Station later this month as a member of...

Lou Dobbs leaves SPACE.com for CNN
Posted: Tue, Apr 10 2:40 PM ET (1840 GMT)
Former CNN anchor Lou Dobbs announced Tuesday he will return to the network, leaving SPACE.com, the space news and information company he founded nearly...



news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list