spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA reschedules STS-114 launch
Posted: Wed, Apr 20 9:53 PM ET (0153 GMT)
Confirming earlier reports, NASA officials announced Wednesday that they have delayed the launch of the first post-Columbia shuttle mission one week. Shuttle managers said...

Spitzer spies extrasolar asteroid belt
Posted: Wed, Apr 20 9:45 PM ET (0145 GMT)
Astronomers said Wednesday that they have discovered what they believe is an asteroid belt encircling a nearby Sun-like star. The astronomers identified the belt...

Report: NASA to slip shuttle launch
Posted: Wed, Apr 20 8:22 AM ET (1222 GMT)
NASA may announce as early as today that it will delay the launch of the first post-Columbia mission by up to a week, NBC...

Griffin: NASA leaders to make shuttle launch decision
Posted: Tue, Apr 19 7:12 AM ET (1112 GMT)
New NASA administrator Michael Griffin said Monday he and top shuttle managers will make the final decision regarding when to launch the shuttle even if...

Orbital wins PanAmSat contract
Posted: Tue, Apr 19 6:54 AM ET (1054 GMT)
PanAmSat has awarded a contract to Orbital Sciences Corporation for the construction of at least one, and as many as three, communications satellites, the companies...

Asteroid impact risk scale revised
Posted: Mon, Apr 18 1:51 PM ET (1751 GMT)
Scientists announced last week that they have revised a scale commonly used to communicate the impact risks of asteroids in order to more accurately convey...

DART mission ends prematurely
Posted: Sun, Apr 17 1:18 PM ET (1718 GMT)
A NASA spacecraft launched Friday to test automated rendezvous and docking technologies terminated its mission ahead of schedule Saturday after discovering it was low on...

Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Apr 17 1:04 PM ET (1704 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft docked with the International Space Station Saturday night, bringing a new crew and a visiting astronaut to the orbiting outpost. The Soyuz...

Pegasus launches DART spacecraft
Posted: Fri, Apr 15 9:51 PM ET (0151 GMT)
A Pegasus XL booster successfully launched a NASA technology demonstration satellite Friday. The Pegasus XL departed its L-1011 carrier aircraft off the coast from...

Soyuz launched to ISS
Posted: Fri, Apr 15 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket carrying a new crew for the International Space Station lifted off early Friday. The Soyuz booster, carrying the Soyuz TMA-6 spacecraft,...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list