spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Maneuver keeps options open for Deep Impact
Posted: Thu, Jul 21 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft performed a maneuver Thursday that allows mission managers to keep options open for an extended mission. The trajectory correction maneuver...

PanAmSat acquires Europe*Star
Posted: Wed, Jul 20 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)
Commercial satellite operator PanAmSat announced Tuesday that it has acquired rival operator Europe*Star, giving the US-based company an increased presence in Europe and...

ISS crew moves Soyuz
Posted: Tue, Jul 19 9:24 PM ET (0124 GMT)
The crew of the International Space Station took a brief flight in their Soyuz spacecraft Tuesday, moving the vehicle from one docking port to another...

Next Tuesday earliest launch date for shuttle
Posted: Tue, Jul 19 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
Shuttle managers said late Monday that the next launch attempt for the shuttle Discovery will take place no earlier than Tuesday, July 26, with no...

Shuttle launch pushed back to late next week
Posted: Fri, Jul 15 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers said Friday that it will be late next week at the earliest — and quite possibly much later — before they will...

Fire threatens Arizona observatory
Posted: Fri, Jul 15 8:37 AM ET (1237 GMT)
A wildfire in the Arizona mountains south of Tucson is threatening a major observatory. The "Florida" fire, named after the mountain peak where the fire...

Shuttle launch pushed back to at least Sunday
Posted: Thu, Jul 14 11:25 PM ET (0325 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers said Thursday afternoon that the earliest possible launch date for Discovery is Sunday, and could be much later. Wednesday's scheduled launch...

Exoplanet discovered in triple star system
Posted: Thu, Jul 14 8:18 AM ET (1218 GMT)
Astronomers announced Thursday that they have discovered an extrasolar planet orbiting a star that is a part of a triple-star system. In a paper...

Fuel sensor glitch scrubs shuttle launch
Posted: Wed, Jul 13 6:20 PM ET (2220 GMT)
A problem with a fuel sensor on the shuttle's external tank, similar to one NASA encountered earlier this year, forced shuttle managers to delay...

Shuttle launch remains on schedule
Posted: Wed, Jul 13 8:19 AM ET (1219 GMT)
The launch of the space shuttle Discovery remains on track for Wednesday afternoon despite an incident late Tuesday that caused minor damage to the orbiter....



news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list