spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis launches on mission to space station
Posted: Thu, Jul 12 6:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis lifted off early Thursday morning on a mission to the International Space Station. Atlantis lifted off on schedule at 5:04...

Solar sail test launch scheduled for July 18
Posted: Thu, Jul 12 6:26 AM ET (1026 GMT)
A suborbital test launch of a privately-funded solar sail has been set for July 18, the Planetary Society announced Wednesday. The suborbital test flight...

House subcommittee boosts NASA budget
Posted: Wed, Jul 11 11:37 AM ET (1537 GMT)
A subcommittee of the House Appropriations Committee voted Tuesday to add more than $400 million to NASA's 2002 budget proposal. The VA-HUD subcommittee,...

Shuttle countdown continues, weather still a concern
Posted: Wed, Jul 11 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
The countdown towards Thursday morning's launch of the shuttle Atlantis continues with uncertain weather still the primary concern. Shuttle managers said Wednesday morning that...

X-38 successfully completes flight test
Posted: Tue, Jul 10 7:06 PM ET (2306 GMT)
A prototype of a possible future crew return vehicle for the International Space Station made a successful test flight Tuesday. The X-38's flight...

Giant dust storm spotted on Mars
Posted: Tue, Jul 10 11:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
One of the largest dust storms in years is taking place on the planet Mars, NASA scientists said Monday. The giant dust storm was first...

Countdown begins for Thursday shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Jul 9 6:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)
The countdown for the launch this Thursday of the space shuttle Atlantis began Monday morning with weather the only major concern. Countdown clocks started at...

Congress may add funding for CRV development
Posted: Sat, Jul 7 12:10 PM ET (1610 GMT)
A Congressional subcommittee may add $400 million to NASA's 2002 budget so the agency can continue work on a crew return vehicle (CRV) for...

NASA, Boeing in dispute over faulty spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Jul 7 11:27 AM ET (1527 GMT)
NASA and Boeing are locked in a contractual dispute about a malfunctioning communications spacecraft according to an Aviation Week article published online Friday. The article...

Challenger debris auction cancelled
Posted: Fri, Jul 6 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)
The auction of a piece of debris allegedly from the explosion of the space shuttle Challenger was cancelled late Thursday night. The online publication collectSPACE...



news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list