spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-114 astronauts complete first EVA
Posted: Sat, Jul 30 3:45 PM ET (1945 GMT)
Two members of the STS-114 crew conducted a spacewalk outside the space shuttle Discovery Saturday, testing shuttle tile repair techniques and performing work on...

Astronomers claim discovery of tenth planet
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 9:45 PM ET (0145 GMT)
Planetary astronomers announced late Friday that they have discovered a distant object that, based on its size, would qualify as the solar system's tenth...

NASA considers extending STS-114 mission
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 9:23 PM ET (0123 GMT)
Facing a potentially extended gap before the next shuttle flight, NASA is considering extending the current STS-114 mission by an extra day. Mission managers...

PanAmSat buys first Land Launch mission
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 9:04 AM ET (1304 GMT)
Communications satellite operator PanAmSat will be the first customer for Land Launch, the land-based variant of the Sea Launch system, Boeing announced Thursday. PanAmSat...

Weather satellite launch delayed
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 8:51 AM ET (1251 GMT)
The launch of a geostationary orbit weather satellite, scheduled for Friday night, has been delayed because of an unspecified problem with the satellite. A Delta...

Rutan, Branson announce joint venture
Posted: Thu, Jul 28 7:24 PM ET (2324 GMT)
Entrepreneur Sir Richard Branson and Scaled Composites president Burt Rutan announced Wednesday that the two had formed a joint venture to manufacture commercial suborbital spacecraft....

Discovery docks with ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 28 10:09 AM ET (1409 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery docked with the International Space Station on Thursday morning, the first shuttle to visit the station since late 2002. Discovery docked...

Olsen named to October Soyuz flight
Posted: Thu, Jul 28 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)
The Russian space agency Roskosmos has officially added American businessman Gregory Olsen to the crew of the next Soyuz flight scheduled to fly to the...

NASA suspends shuttle launches
Posted: Wed, Jul 27 11:18 PM ET (0318 GMT)
Shuttle officials announced late Wednesday that they would not launch the shuttle again until they understood why a large chunk of foam fell off the...

Astronauts inspect shuttle for damage
Posted: Wed, Jul 27 2:05 PM ET (1805 GMT)
The crew of the space shuttle Discovery conducted an inspection of the exterior of the orbiter Wednesday, looking for any damage to its tiles and...



news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list