spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia proposes lunar space tourist flight
Updated: Wed, Jul 27 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Jul 27 8:20 AM ET (1220 GMT)
The Russian space agency Roskosmos and aerospace company Energia have proposed flying a Soyuz mission around the Moon if they are able to find a...

Shuttle Discovery launches
Posted: Tue, Jul 26 12:50 PM ET (1650 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery lifted off on schedule Tuesday morning on the first shuttle mission since the Columbia accident nearly two and a half years...

Planetary Society planning another solar sail
Posted: Tue, Jul 26 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
The Planetary Society is contemplating building and launching another solar sail after the launch of its first such spacecraft, Cosmos 1, failed last month. Aerospace...

NASA ready for Tuesday shuttle launch attempt
Posted: Mon, Jul 25 1:47 PM ET (1747 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers gave their approve late Sunday for Tuesday morning's launch of Discovery on the first post-Columbia mission, despite the lack of...

House passes NASA authorization bill
Posted: Sat, Jul 23 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)
The US House of Representatives passed a NASA authorization bill Friday that formally endorsed the agency's Vision for Space Exploration. The House passed the...

Study finds Mars has been cold for 4 billion years
Posted: Sat, Jul 23 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
An analysis of meteorites of Mars has led scientists to conclude that the planet was too cold to support liquid water for the last four...

Report: NASA cancels Mars telecom orbiter mission
Posted: Fri, Jul 22 10:38 AM ET (1438 GMT)
NASA has cancelled plans to build a communications satellite that would orbit Mars and serve as a relay for future missions, a Denver newspaper reported...

Astrium wins SES Astra satellite contract
Posted: Fri, Jul 22 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
European satellite manufacturer EADS Astrium announced Thursday that it won a contract from satellite operator SES Astra to build a new communications satellite. Astrium will...

Orbital reports drop in net income
Posted: Fri, Jul 22 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
Orbital Sciences Corporation had a drop in its net income even as revenues and operating income remained steady, the company announced Wednesday. In its fiscal...

NASA reschedules STS-114 launch for July 26
Posted: Thu, Jul 21 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
Shuttle managers said late Wednesday that they think they have tracked down the cause of a sensor glitch that postponed last week's scheduled launch...



news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list