spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts complete second ISS spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Oct 15 2:53 PM ET (1853 GMT)
Two Russian cosmonauts completed the second spacewalk outside the International Space Station in as many weeks Monday morning. Cosmonauts Vladimir Dezhurov and Mikhail Turin spent...

News briefs: October 13-14
Posted: Mon, Oct 15 12:55 AM ET (0455 GMT)
Chinese officials are planning to launch 30 satellites in the next five years, an official said recently. The Chinese media reported Saturday that Xu Fuxiang,...

Australia being considered as ISS CRV landing site
Posted: Mon, Oct 15 12:40 AM ET (0440 GMT)
A dormant launch site in Australia may become a landing site for crew return vehicles (CRVs) from the International Space Station, an Australian newspaper reported...

News briefs: October 12
Posted: Sat, Oct 13 11:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
NASA's Galileo spacecraft is scheduled to fire its thrusters Saturday to fine-tune its trajectory in preparation for a flyby of the volcanic Jovian...

Mars Odyssey makes final course correction
Posted: Sat, Oct 13 10:38 AM ET (1438 GMT)
NASA's 2001 Mars Odyssey spacecraft tweaked its course slightly Friday, the final course correction before the spacecraft enters orbit around Mars later this month....

South African tourist flight to ISS still possible
Posted: Sat, Oct 13 10:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
The Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos is leaving open the possibility of flying a South African entrepreneur to the International Space Station next year, Russian media...

News briefs: October 11
Posted: Fri, Oct 12 12:53 AM ET (0453 GMT)
The Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan has tightened security in recent days, the Interfax news agency reported Thursday. The number of journalists and guests admitted to...

Giant dust storm observed on Mars
Posted: Fri, Oct 12 12:19 AM ET (0419 GMT)
Two NASA spacecraft have tracked the largest dust storm seen on Mars in 30 years, scientists announced Thursday. The giant dust storm developed in late...

JPL selects advanced technology projects for future missions
Posted: Fri, Oct 12 12:06 AM ET (0406 GMT)
The Jet Propulsion Laboratory announced Wednesday that it has selected a trio of advanced technologies to fly in space on separate spacecraft in 2004. The...

News briefs: October 10
Posted: Thu, Oct 11 10:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
Russian rocketry pioneer Vasili Mishin died in Moscow Wednesday at the age of 84. A key aide to Sergei Korolev, Mishin took over the Soviet...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 15
One Small Step Toward Printing Replacement Organs...in Space
IEEE Spectrum — 3:42 am ET (0742 GMT)
SpaceX says it's on track to launch astronauts to space station
Los Angeles Business Journal — 3:39 am ET (0739 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list