spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour rolled out under unprecedented security
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 5:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour was rolled out to the launch pad Wednesday under security precautions not seen before for a shuttle mission. Endeavour was moved...

Mars Odyssey snaps first image
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 3:46 PM ET (2046 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft has taken its first image of the Red Planet since entering orbit last week. The image of the south polar...

News briefs: October 31
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 11:53 AM ET (1653 GMT)
NASA shut down the Interplanetary Monitoring Platform 8 (IMP 8) spacecraft October 28 after a 28-year mission. The spacecraft, also known as Explorer 50,...

Goldin cautions NASA and Congress about SLI
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 11:29 AM ET (1629 GMT)
Outgoing NASA administrator Dan Goldin warned Congress and some elements of his own space agency Tuesday not to sacrifice the Space Launch Initiative (SLI) to...

News briefs: October 30
Posted: Wed, Oct 31 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)
NASA has scheduled a press conference for Friday afternoon to release a report by an independent commission studying the International Space Station program. The panel,...

Soyuz undocks from station, returns to Earth
Posted: Wed, Oct 31 9:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russians and one Frenchwoman undocked from the International Space Station Tuesday night and safely returned to Earth several hours later....

Report: Lockheed Martin to terminate Astrolink project
Posted: Tue, Oct 30 1:21 PM ET (1821 GMT)
Lockheed Martin will shut down its multi-billion dollar Astrolink satellite program, the Wall Street Journal reported Tuesday. The Journal article claimed that Lockheed Martin...

News briefs: October 29
Posted: Tue, Oct 30 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
The number of launches in the first half of 2001 fell by 27 percent over the same period last year, a Teal Group study released...

EchoStar wins bidding for Hughes Electronics
Posted: Tue, Oct 30 12:11 AM ET (0511 GMT)
Direct television broadcasting company EchoStar announced Monday that it had come to terms with General Motors to acquire Hughes Electronics and its DirecTV subsidiary for...

Mars Odyssey slows aerobraking, delays first image
Posted: Mon, Oct 29 9:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
Mars Odyssey mission controllers have slowed down the beginning of the aerobraking phase of the spacecraft's mission and have delayed the first image taken...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list