spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle cleared for November 29 launch despite wheel concern
Posted: Fri, Nov 16 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
Shuttle managers decided Thursday to proceed with a November 29 launch of the space shuttle Endeavour despite concerns about wheel corrosion. At a flight readiness...

News briefs: November 15
Posted: Fri, Nov 16 10:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)
The Kennedy Space Center may offer buyouts to up to 75 civil service employees in order to make room for new workers in more critical...

Mars Odyssey aerobraking continues
Posted: Thu, Nov 15 5:59 PM ET (2259 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft entered the main aerobraking phase of its mission this week in excellent condition, project officials said. Originally in an 18....

News briefs: November 14
Posted: Thu, Nov 15 9:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)
A Japanese remote sensing satellite is expected to reenter the Earth's atmosphere in early December, the Kyodo News Service reported Wednesday. The Fuyo No....

O'Keefe nominated to be next NASA administrator
Posted: Wed, Nov 14 8:53 PM ET (0153 GMT)
As expected, President George W. Bush nominated Sean O'Keefe, deputy director of the Office of Management and Budget, to become the next administrator of...

News briefs: November 13
Posted: Wed, Nov 14 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
Satellite operator SES Global may cancel up to $1 billion in satellite and launch vehicle orders as a result of its merger with GE Americom,...

Globalstar planning bankruptcy, reorganization
Posted: Wed, Nov 14 9:47 AM ET (1447 GMT)
Satellite communications company Globalstar announced late Tuesday that it will soon file for bankruptcy protection as part of a reorganization scheme. In a press release...

Report: O'Keefe to be named as new NASA administrator
Posted: Tue, Nov 13 6:32 PM ET (2332 GMT)
Sean O'Keefe, deputy director of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), will be nominated to be the next administrator of NASA within the...

News briefs: November 12
Posted: Tue, Nov 13 9:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
XCOR Aerospace officially rolled out its EZ-Rocket rocket plane to investors and the media Monday. The small plane, piloted by Dick Rutan, flew to...

Station crew completes third spacewalk
Posted: Tue, Nov 13 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)
American astronaut Frank Culbertson and Russian cosmonaut Vladimir Dezhurov conducted a successful spacewalk outside the International Space Station Monday. Culbertson and Dezhurov spent five hours...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list