spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MirCorp announces game show launch deal
Posted: Wed, Nov 21 10:21 PM ET (0321 GMT)
MirCorp said Wednesday that it has reached an agreement with Russian officials to fly winners of a forthcoming television game show into space in 2003....

Canada to launch space telescope next year
Posted: Wed, Nov 21 2:22 PM ET (1922 GMT)
The Canadian Space Agency announced Tuesday that it will launch a small space telescope on a Russian booster late next year. The Microvariability and Oscillations...

News briefs: November 20
Posted: Wed, Nov 21 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
A "medically insignificant" amount of anthrax was discovered at NASA Headquarters earlier this month, according to unpublished reports. The trace amount, identified by the Centers...

News briefs: November 19
Posted: Tue, Nov 20 8:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)
Two NASA earth and space science satellites are ready for launch early next month. NASA officials said Monday that the Jason 1 and TIMED missions...

Cost and schedule issues threaten Mars rover missions
Posted: Tue, Nov 20 8:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
Concerns about budget and schedules may force NASA to cancel one of two twin Mars rovers scheduled for launch in 2003, SPACE.com reported Monday....

News briefs: November 17-18
Posted: Mon, Nov 19 11:18 AM ET (1618 GMT)
Lockheed Martin and TRW will share a $2.7 billion contract for a next-generation military communications satellite after Boeing dropped out of the partnership...

Leonid meteors dazzle North Americans
Posted: Sun, Nov 18 2:46 PM ET (1946 GMT)
Observers across North America observed an outburst of meteors from the Leonid meteor shower early Sunday. Initial reports indicate that the shower's intensity increased...

News briefs: November 16
Posted: Sat, Nov 17 5:16 AM ET (1016 GMT)
The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) is pressuring planetary scientists to drop plans for a Pluto mission and concentrate on an Europa orbiter, SpaceDaily...

Genesis completes maneuver
Posted: Sat, Nov 17 5:08 AM ET (1008 GMT)
NASA's Genesis spacecraft entered orbit around the Earth-Sun L1 point Friday, project managers reported. Genesis fired its thrusters for 268 seconds starting at...

ESA approves Galileo, Ariane upgrade funding
Posted: Fri, Nov 16 7:12 PM ET (0012 GMT)
The European Space Agency approved plans to fund development of a global positioning system and Ariane booster upgrades during a meeting in Scotland this week....



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Saturday, November 18
Rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for Saturday
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:43 am ET (0743 GMT)
Codename Zuma: All about SpaceX's secret launch
CNNMoney.com — 2:42 am ET (0742 GMT)
Elon Musk on His Fears, Dreams, Twitter, Morality and Mars
Rolling Stone — 2:39 am ET (0739 GMT)
UAE's Mars City to be ready in 30 months
Zawya — 2:38 am ET (0738 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list