spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Wildfire hits Australian observatory
Posted: Mon, Jan 14 6:39 AM ET (1139 GMT)
A massive wildfire swept through a major Australian astronomical observatory on Sunday, damaging some buildings but apparently sparing key telescopes there. The fast-moving fire...

Bigelow to provide expandable module for ISS
Posted: Sat, Jan 12 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)
NASA confirmed Friday that Bigelow Aerospace, a company developing commercial space stations using modules that inflate in orbit, will provide a module for the International...

Canada confirms plans for RADARSAT Constellation mission
Posted: Sat, Jan 12 11:15 AM ET (1615 GMT)
The Canadian Space Agency announced this week that it will press ahead with the country's next-generation radar satellite imaging system, signing a contract...

NASA rules out Apophis asteroid impact in 2036
Posted: Fri, Jan 11 11:57 AM ET (1657 GMT)
New observations of the near Earth asteroid Apophis have ruled out any chance it will hit the Earth in 2036, NASA announced Thursday. The observations...

DigitalGlobe-GeoEye merger wins antitrust approval
Posted: Thu, Jan 10 9:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
Commercial remote sensing companies DigitalGlobe and GeoEye announced Wednesday that their planned merger has received antitrust clearance from the US Justice Department, the last major...

Commercial crew efforts on track
Posted: Thu, Jan 10 9:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
Officials with NASA and four companies involved with the space agency's commercial crew development program said Wednesday that their efforts remain on schedule, with...

Exocomets likely common around other stars
Posted: Wed, Jan 9 9:27 AM ET (1427 GMT)
Astronomers this week reported the discovery of several stars that have comets orbiting them, suggesting that cometary systems may be just as common as extrasolar...

Kepler adds to extrasolar planet bounty
Posted: Tue, Jan 8 9:09 AM ET (1409 GMT)
NASA's Kepler mission released a new set of 461 potential extrasolar planets on Monday as other researchers, using Kepler data, indicated that at least...

Long duration space missions could affect crew sleep
Posted: Tue, Jan 8 8:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
A simulation of a 520-day Mars mission demonstrated that crews can become more sedentary and suffer disrupted sleep patterns, scientists reported Monday. The study...

Arianespace to launch Vietnamese satellite on Vega
Posted: Sun, Jan 6 9:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
Arianespace announced Friday that it has won a contract to launch a small Vietnamese satellite later this year using the Vega launch vehicle. The VNREDSat-...



news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 23
ULA targeting Thursday morning for rocket launch
WKMG-TV — 9:35 am ET (1335 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list