spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ESA, NASA agree on ATV-based service module for Orion
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 6:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
NASA and ESA formally announced Wednesday that Europe will develop a service module for at least one Orion mission based on the ATV cargo spacecraft....

Curiosity rover ready to test drill
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
NASA's Curiosity Mars rover is set to test its drill in the coming days on a rock that scientists believe may provide new information...

Rockot places three satellites in orbit
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:25 AM ET (1225 GMT)
A Russian Rockot booster placed three Russian military satellites into orbit on Tuesday in the first orbital launch of the year. The Rockot vehicle lifted...

Canadian Space Agency head to step down
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
The president of the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) will resign at the end of the month to take a position with a new research institute,...

Wildfire hits Australian observatory
Posted: Mon, Jan 14 6:39 AM ET (1139 GMT)
A massive wildfire swept through a major Australian astronomical observatory on Sunday, damaging some buildings but apparently sparing key telescopes there. The fast-moving fire...

Bigelow to provide expandable module for ISS
Posted: Sat, Jan 12 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)
NASA confirmed Friday that Bigelow Aerospace, a company developing commercial space stations using modules that inflate in orbit, will provide a module for the International...

Canada confirms plans for RADARSAT Constellation mission
Posted: Sat, Jan 12 11:15 AM ET (1615 GMT)
The Canadian Space Agency announced this week that it will press ahead with the country's next-generation radar satellite imaging system, signing a contract...

NASA rules out Apophis asteroid impact in 2036
Posted: Fri, Jan 11 11:57 AM ET (1657 GMT)
New observations of the near Earth asteroid Apophis have ruled out any chance it will hit the Earth in 2036, NASA announced Thursday. The observations...

DigitalGlobe-GeoEye merger wins antitrust approval
Posted: Thu, Jan 10 9:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
Commercial remote sensing companies DigitalGlobe and GeoEye announced Wednesday that their planned merger has received antitrust clearance from the US Justice Department, the last major...

Commercial crew efforts on track
Posted: Thu, Jan 10 9:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
Officials with NASA and four companies involved with the space agency's commercial crew development program said Wednesday that their efforts remain on schedule, with...



news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, October 17
Want To Go To Mars? The Risks May Not Be Worth It, Says UNLV Prof
Nevada Public Radio — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
The Interplanetary Political Football of Space Exploration
Scientific American — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list