spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays launch of Japanese reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Thu, Jan 29 8:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Poor weather pushed back Thursday's scheduled launch of a Japanese reconnaissance satellite until at least Sunday. An H-2A was scheduled to launch from...

ATK and Orbital shareholders approve merger
Posted: Wed, Jan 28 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
Shareholders of ATK and Orbital Sciences Corporation voted Tuesday to approve a merger of the two companies, which will allow the merger to close early...

Astronomers discover ancient solar system
Posted: Wed, Jan 28 7:36 AM ET (1236 GMT)
Astronomers announced Tuesday the discovery of a solar system with five planets estimated to be 11 billion years old, the oldest solar system yet found....

Google Lunar X PRIZE awards milestone prizes
Posted: Tue, Jan 27 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
The X PRIZE Foundation announced Monday that it has awarded $5.25 million in "milestone prizes" to five teams participating in the Google Lunar X...

Planetary Society to launch solar sail demonstrator in May
Posted: Tue, Jan 27 7:43 AM ET (1243 GMT)
The Planetary Society announced Monday that it will launch a small spacecraft designed to test solar sail technology in May. The nonprofit organization said it...

Air Force and SpaceX settle lawsuit
Posted: Sat, Jan 24 10:57 AM ET (1557 GMT)
The US Air Force and SpaceX have settled a lawsuit the company filed last year, leaving intact a controversial block buy contract between the service...

Scientists release initial results from Rosetta
Posted: Fri, Jan 23 8:10 AM ET (1310 GMT)
Scientists working on ESA's Rosetta mission have released the initial analysis of data collected by the spacecraft as it studied comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko....

Russia plans to merge space agency with industry
Posted: Thu, Jan 22 7:47 AM ET (1247 GMT)
Russian president Vladimir Putin approved plans Wednesday to merge the Russian space agency Roscosmos with a new industry conglomerate, in the process removing the current...

Atlas 5 launches military communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Jan 21 7:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
The most powerful variant of the United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a military communications satellite Tuesday night. The Atlas 5 551 rocket...

Google and Fidelity to invest $1 billion into SpaceX
Posted: Wed, Jan 21 7:18 AM ET (1218 GMT)
SpaceX announced Tuesday that it has raised $1 billion from Internet search giant Google and financial firm Fidelity, funds that will likely support initial development...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list