spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two communications satellites
Posted: Fri, Aug 21 10:57 AM ET (1457 GMT)
An Ariane 5 successfully launched two commercial communications satellites Thursday. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:34 pm EDT (...

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Fri, Aug 21 10:49 AM ET (1449 GMT)
An H-2B rocket successfully launched a cargo spacecraft bound for the International Space Station on Wednesday. The H-2B lifted off from the Tanegashima...

NASA tests RS-25 engine for SLS
Posted: Tue, Aug 18 11:29 PM ET (0329 GMT)
NASA successfully tested an RS-25 engine last week as part of its development of the Space Launch System. The engine test, at the Stennis...

HTV launch set for Wednesday
Posted: Tue, Aug 18 11:20 PM ET (0320 GMT)
A Japanese cargo spacecraft is scheduled to launch to the International Space Station on Wednesday after several days of weather delays. The H-2B rocket...

NASA names new space station program manager
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)
The longtime NASA manager of the International Space Station manager is leaving the agency, NASA announced this week. Michael Suffredini, who had been ISS program...

NASA extends Soyuz contract with Russia
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 9:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
NASA informed Congress this week that it is extending a contract for Soyuz flight services to the International Space Station through 2018 because proposed budget...

SpaceShipTwo accident caused by pilot error, lack of safeguards
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 3:34 PM ET (1934 GMT)
Last October's crash of Scaled Composites' SpaceShipTwo vehicle was caused by pilot error that was not foreseen by the vehicle's developers, the National...

China launches navigation satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 3:20 PM ET (1920 GMT)
China launched a pair of Beidou navigation satellites July 25. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 8:...

Delta 4 launches WGS 7
Posted: Fri, Jul 24 2:51 PM ET (1851 GMT)
A Delta 4 rocket successfully launched the seventh in a series of military communications satellites on Thursday. The Delta 4 Medium-Plus (5,4) lifted...

Astronomers discover "cousin" of Earth orbiting distant star
Posted: Fri, Jul 24 2:35 PM ET (1835 GMT)
Astronomers announced Thursday the discovery of a "bigger, older" cousin of the Earth orbiting a distant star, making the planet the closest analog found to...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 22
New project puts Denmark firmly on the space map
Copenhagen Post — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list