spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz sends new crew to the ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 23 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft with three people on board docked with the International Space Station Wednesday night, nearly six hours after its launch from Kazakhstan. A...

SpaceX blames launch failure on faulty strut
Posted: Wed, Jul 22 9:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
SpaceX said Monday that the failure last month of a Falcon 9 rocket on a cargo mission to the International Space Station was caused by...

Russian billionaire to fund $100-million SETI effort
Posted: Wed, Jul 22 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
A Russian billionaire announced Monday he will provide $100 million over the next ten years to support the most extensive effort yet in the search...

New Horizons images reveal a young Pluto surface
Posted: Sat, Jul 18 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
Images taken by NASA's New Horizons spacecraft during its flyby of Pluto July 14 show that parts of the surface are surprisingly young, suggesting...

Ariane 5 launches communications, weather satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 18 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
An Ariane 5 successfully launched a commercial communications satellite and a European weather satellite Wednesday evening. The Ariane 5 lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana,...

Atlas successfully launches GPS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 18 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
At Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched the latest GPS navigation satellite on Wednesday. The Atlas 5 401 rocket lifted off on schedule from Cape Canaveral...

New Horizons successfully flies past Pluto
Posted: Wed, Jul 15 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
NASA's New Horizons spacecraft flew past Pluto early Tuesday, nine and a half years after its launch. New Horizons made its closest approach to...

PSLV launches five British-built satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 11 2:48 PM ET (1848 GMT)
An Indian Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) successfully launched Friday five satellites built by a British company. The PSLV-XL rocket lifted off from the...

Philae responds to commands
Posted: Sat, Jul 11 2:31 PM ET (1831 GMT)
Europe's Philae comet lander communicated with controllers Thursday for the first time in two weeks and demonstrated it had the ability to respond to...

New Horizons goes into safe mode
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 11:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)
NASA's New Horizons spacecraft went into a protective safe mode Saturday, less than ten days before the spacecraft makes its closest approach to Pluto....



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list