spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: February 16-17
Posted: Mon, Feb 18 9:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
A newly-discovered comet could become visible to the naked eye for northern hemisphere observers next month according to Astronomy magazine. Comet 2002 C1 Ikeya-...

News briefs: February 15
Posted: Sat, Feb 16 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
An employee of a Japanese aerospace company hacked into the computers of the NASDA space agency and obtained confidential information about a competitor, the AP...

Globalstar files for bankruptcy protection
Posted: Sat, Feb 16 9:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
Satellite communications company Globalstar announced late Friday that it has filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection as part of a restructuring plan. In a press...

News briefs: February 14
Posted: Fri, Feb 15 8:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)
Loral Space and Communications reported a net loss of $277 million in 2001 on Thursday, far less than the $1.5 billion it lost the...

Shuttle given tentative OK for February 28 launch
Posted: Fri, Feb 15 8:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
Shuttle managers announced Thursday that they have decided to proceed with a February 28 launch attempt for Columbia despite concerns about hydraulic systems on the...

News briefs: February 13
Posted: Thu, Feb 14 8:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
NASA is "one significant problem away" from delaying the STS-109 shuttle mission scheduled for launch February 28, SPACE.com reported Wednesday. The current schedule...

News briefs: February 12
Posted: Wed, Feb 13 8:48 AM ET (1348 GMT)
The next International Space Station spacewalk is scheduled for February 20, NASA announced Tuesday. Astronauts Carl Walz and Dan Bursch will use the station's...

NASA names new JSC director, chief scientist
Posted: Wed, Feb 13 8:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has selected a new director for the Johnson Space Center as well as a new chief scientist for the agency....

News briefs: February 11
Posted: Tue, Feb 12 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
NASA's Thermosphere, Ionosphere, Mesosphere, Energetics and Dynamics (TIMED) spacecraft has started its science mission, NASA reported Monday. TIMED was launched into Earth orbit on...

Delta 2 launches Iridium spacecraft
Posted: Mon, Feb 11 7:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)
On the fourth attempt in as many days, a Delta 2 rocket successfully launched five replacement Iridium satellites Monday afternoon. The booster lifted off at...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list