spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SES names new CEO
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:13 PM ET (2313 GMT)
SES has named Steve Collar its next president and CEO. The satellite operator announced Monday that Collar, currently the CEO of SES Networks, will succeed...

Progress launch to ISS scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Feb 11 9:51 AM ET (1451 GMT)
The launch of a Progress cargo spacecraft on a "fast track" trajectory to the International Space Station was scrubbed Sunday less than a minute before...

SpaceX launches Falcon Heavy
Posted: Sun, Feb 11 9:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched its Falcon Heavy rocket, placing a demonstration payload, a sports car, into interplanetary space. The Falcon 9 lifted off from the Kennedy...

NASA studying commercial crew contingency plans
Posted: Sun, Feb 11 9:49 AM ET (1449 GMT)
NASA is starting to study a contingency option for maintaining access to the International Space Station that would turn commercial crew test flights into operational...

SES joins proposal for C-band spectrum sharing
Posted: Sun, Feb 11 9:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
SES is backing a proposal by Intelsat and Intel to share C-band satellite spectrum in the US with terrestrial wireless providers. The company said...

Japan launches cubesat on converted sounding rocket
Posted: Sun, Feb 11 9:47 AM ET (1447 GMT)
Japan's space agency successfully launched a cubesat on a converted sounding rocket. The SS-520-5 rocket lifted off from the Uchinoura Space Center...

Russian cosmonauts replace electronics box in record-setting spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Feb 3 6:02 PM ET (2302 GMT)
Two cosmonauts set the record for the longest Russian spacewalk Friday at the International Space Station. Alexander Misurkin and Anton Shkaplerov spent eight hours and...

China launches earthquake prediction satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 3 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)
China launched an earthquake science satellite and six secondary payloads early Friday. A Long March 2D lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at...

Soyuz launches 11 satellites from Vostochny
Posted: Sat, Feb 3 5:46 PM ET (2246 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket placed 11 satellites into orbit Thursday in the first launch from a new Russian site since a November failure. The Soyuz-2....

Falcon 9 launches GovSat-1
Posted: Sat, Feb 3 5:39 PM ET (2239 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched a communications satellite for Luxembourg Wednesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Space Launch Complex 40 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 4:...



news in brief
Delta 4 launches WGS-10 communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)

Soyuz sends crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

NASA considering commercial rockets for EM-1
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, March 20
Rethinking EM-1, and SLS
The Space Review — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)
NASA’s flawed plan to return humans to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:13 am ET (1513 GMT)
Pow, right to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:12 am ET (1512 GMT)
Inmarsat in talks on £2.5bn takeover bid from former owner Apax
The Times of London — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list