spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for STS-109 launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 26 2:03 AM ET (0703 GMT)
NASA started the countdown Monday for the Thursday morning launch of the space shuttle Columbia on mission STS-109. The countdown began at 10 am...

News briefs: February 23-24
Posted: Mon, Feb 25 8:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Engineers have restored some control to NASA's Far Ultraviolet Spectroscopic Explorer (FUSE) spacecraft, Astronomy.com reported Friday. FUSE had stopped scientific observations in December...

ISS odor problem solved
Posted: Mon, Feb 25 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
A strong odor that filled the US portions of the International Space Station after a Wednesday spacewalk have been removed, NASA reported. The Expedition Four...

Ariane 4 launches Intelsat 904
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 3:37 AM ET (0837 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched an Intelsat communications satellite early Saturday. The Ariane 44L lifted off at 1:59 am EST (0659 GMT) from...

Northrop Grumman offers to buy TRW
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 1:26 AM ET (0626 GMT)
Aerospace and defense contractor Northrop Grumman made an unsolicited bid early Friday to buy TRW in a deal worth more than $10 billion. Northrop Grumman...

News briefs: February 22
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 12:52 AM ET (0552 GMT)
The Canadian government will make an "important announcement" regarding human presence in space on Monday, the Canadian Space Agency said Friday. The announcement will be...

Polish entrepreneur bidding to be next space tourist
Posted: Fri, Feb 22 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)
A Polish entrepreneur said Thursday that he was interested in flying to the International Space Station as the next commercial space tourist, while Russia officials...

Boeing slashes 1,050 jobs from satellite unit
Posted: Fri, Feb 22 8:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)
The Boeing Corporation announced Thursday that it was cutting 1,050 jobs from its satellite divisions, about 11 percent of its workforce. Boeing will cut...

News briefs: February 22
Posted: Fri, Feb 22 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
There is "change in the air" for US military space efforts, Air Force undersecretary Peter Teets said this week. Teets, who leads military space efforts...

Atlas 3B maiden flight a success
Posted: Thu, Feb 21 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)
Lockheed Martin's Atlas 3B booster successfully carried out its maiden flight Thursday morning, launching a direct broadcasting satellite for EchoStar. The rocket lifted off...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 22
New project puts Denmark firmly on the space map
Copenhagen Post — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list