spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia seeking bigger role in ISS
Posted: Thu, Feb 21 8:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)
The head of the Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos said Wednesday that Russia was considering a larger or even "leadership" role in the International Space Station...

News briefs: February 20
Posted: Thu, Feb 21 7:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)
Polish and American astronomers have discovered evidence for up to 42 extrasolar planets around stars near the center of the galaxy, SPACE.com reported Wednesday....

MirCorp confirms tourist flight talks with Lance Bass
Posted: Wed, Feb 20 6:50 PM ET (2350 GMT)
MirCorp announced Wednesday that it has entered negotiations with Lance Bass, a member of the pop group *NSYNC, regarding a potential tourist flight to the...

Astronauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Wed, Feb 20 6:37 PM ET (2337 GMT)
Two American astronauts conducted a spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Wednesday. Carl Walz and Dan Bursch spent five hours and 47 minutes outside...

News briefs: February 19
Posted: Wed, Feb 20 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
Mars may have experienced major floods as recently as 10 million years ago, University of Arizona scientists said Monday. They found evidence of floods associated...

Report: pop star to be next space tourist
Posted: Wed, Feb 20 12:28 AM ET (0528 GMT)
Lance Bass, a member of the pop group *NSYNC, will fly to the International Space Station this fall as the third commercial space tourist, according...

Mars program in "crisis mode"
Posted: Wed, Feb 20 12:16 AM ET (0516 GMT)
NASA's Mars exploration program is facing a "budget crisis" that could delay or cancel future sample return missions, according to a SPACE.com article...

Fairing problem delays Ariane launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 19 8:17 PM ET (0117 GMT)
An Ariane 4 launch scheduled for the early morning hours Wednesday has been delayed three days because of minor issues with the booster, Arianespace announced...

News briefs: February 18
Posted: Tue, Feb 19 8:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft is ready to begin its science mission this week, the AP reported Monday. The spacecraft's instruments will begin searches...

Report: bad wiring caused Japanese satellite failure
Posted: Mon, Feb 18 9:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
Faulty wiring prevented a Japanese spacecraft from separating from its H-2A booster during a launch earlier this month, according to a Japanese newspaper article...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list