spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress undocks from ISS, deorbits
Posted: Wed, Mar 20 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)
A Russian Progress spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station Tuesday and burned up in the Earth's atmosphere several hours later. The Progress M1-...

News briefs: March 19
Posted: Wed, Mar 20 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)
The successful launch of a Rockot booster Sunday has paved the way for closer integration of Russian launch vehicle efforts, Itar-Tass reported Tuesday. The...

Business briefs: March 19
Posted: Wed, Mar 20 10:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio assured investors Tuesday that the company is in good financial shape despite a "going concern" warning by its auditor, KPMG. The auditing...

NASA to classify shuttle launch times
Posted: Tue, Mar 19 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
NASA will not release exact launch times for future shuttle missions until 24 hours before liftoff, the agency announced Monday. The agency will instead only...

News briefs: March 18
Posted: Tue, Mar 19 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)
The Czech Republic has become the first nation to enact a law designed to fight light pollution, SPACE.com reported Monday. The "Protection of the...

Business briefs: March 18
Posted: Tue, Mar 19 10:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
Lockheed Martin and TRW have submitted bids for the next generation of US government polar orbiting weather satellites, Space News reported Monday. The government will...

News briefs: March 16-17
Posted: Mon, Mar 18 8:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)
Radar observations of the planet Mercury have revealed a large crater on its surface, Sky and Telescope reported. The crater, about 85 km across, looks...

Business briefs: March 16-17
Posted: Mon, Mar 18 8:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
European leaders endorsed plans to proceed with the Galileo satellite navigation network during a meeting in Barcelona that concluded Saturday. Transport ministers must still meet...

Rockot launches GRACE satellites
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 9:49 AM ET (1449 GMT)
A Russian Rockot booster successfully launched two science satellites early Sunday. The Rockot blasted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 4:21...

Technicians find blockage in shuttle coolant line
Posted: Sat, Mar 16 8:31 PM ET (0131 GMT)
Shuttle technicians have pinpointed the blockage in a coolant line in the shuttle Columbia, SPACE.com reported Friday. X-ray and ultrasound equipment located the...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list