spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle landing postponed until Tuesday
Updated: Mon, Feb 19 2:21 PM ET (1921 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Feb 19 1:19 PM ET (1819 GMT)
For the second day in a row NASA has postponed the landing of the shuttle Atlantis because of poor weather conditions at the Kennedy Space...

Minor thruster problem on Stardust
Posted: Mon, Feb 19 12:58 PM ET (1758 GMT)
Engineers are looking into a problem with multiple attitude-control thruster firings on NASA's Stardust spacecraft. The problem, reported in a weekly status report...

High winds delay shuttle landing until Monday
Updated: Sun, Feb 18 1:56 PM ET (1856 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sun, Feb 18 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)
NASA has postponed the landing of the shuttle Atlantis until Monday because of high crosswinds at the Kennedy Space Center. The shuttle was set to...

ISS cost overruns may halt station assembly
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)
Cost overruns approaching $4 billion on the American component of the International Space Station could force NASA to end assembly of the orbiting facility far...

Atlantis undocks from ISS
Posted: Fri, Feb 16 2:38 PM ET (1938 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis undocked from the International Space Station Friday morning, wrapping up a week's stay at the orbiting facility that featured the...

Mir's deorbit date delayed
Posted: Thu, Feb 15 1:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)
The Russian space station Mir will likely remain in orbit until mid-March, about a week later than previously planned, the Itar-Tass news agency...

Astronauts complete third and final spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Feb 15 12:40 AM ET (0540 GMT)
Two astronauts completed the third and final EVA of shuttle mission STS-98 outside the International Space Station Wednesday. Astronauts Bob Curbeam and Tom Jones...

NASA extends NEAR mission up to 10 days
Updated: Wed, Feb 14 2:50 PM ET (1950 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Feb 14 2:14 PM ET (1914 GMT)
NASA announced this afternoon that they have extended the mission of the NEAR Shoemaker spacecraft up to 10 days to perform additional observations from the...

Lockheed Martin: no plans to quit space business
Posted: Wed, Feb 14 11:00 AM ET (1600 GMT)
Aerospace giant Lockheed Martin has no plans to shut down its commercial space business despite the current tough market, senior executives said this week. The...

Will NEAR's mission be extended?
Posted: Tue, Feb 13 6:42 PM ET (2342 GMT)
NASA is mulling a seven- to ten-day extension to the NEAR Shoemaker mission to give scientists more time to study the surface of the...



news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list