spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese prototype crewed spacecraft lands
Posted: Sun, May 10 1:09 PM ET (1709 GMT)
A next-generation Chinese crewed spacecraft landed early Friday after a nearly three-day test flight. The spacecraft, launched without a crew Tuesday on a...

Virgin Orbit signs agreement for Guam launches
Posted: Sun, May 10 1:03 PM ET (1703 GMT)
Virgin Orbit has an agreement to perform launches from a U.S. Air Force base in Guam. VOX Space, the government services subsidiary of Virgin...

DOD seeks to overturn FCC Ligado decision
Posted: Sun, May 10 1:00 PM ET (1700 GMT)
The Defense Department will seek to overturn an FCC decision allowing Ligado to operate a 5G network near a GPS spectrum band. At a Senate...

X-37B to launch on next mission
Posted: Sun, May 10 12:57 PM ET (1657 GMT)
The next X-37B spaceplane mission will carry experiments for both NASA and the Defense Department. Air Force Secretary Barbara Barrett said in a webinar...

China launches first Long March 5B
Posted: Sun, May 10 12:52 PM ET (1652 GMT)
China launched the first Launch March 5B rocket Tuesday, a major milestone in its plans to develop a space station. The Long March 5B rocket,...

NASA, SpaceX ready for Demo-2 mission
Posted: Sun, May 3 2:09 PM ET (1809 GMT)
NASA and SpaceX officials said Friday they were ready for a crewed test flight of the company's Crew Dragon spacecraft late this month. In...

NASA selects Blue Origin, Dynetics, and SpaceX for lunar lander studies
Posted: Sun, May 3 2:08 PM ET (1808 GMT)
NASA announced Thursday selected Blue Origin, Dynetics and SpaceX to being work on designs for human lunar landers for the agency's Artemis program. The...

Kourou spaceport to reopen
Posted: Sun, May 3 2:06 PM ET (1806 GMT)
The European spaceport in French Guiana will resume launches in June. The Guiana Space Centre suspended launch activities in mid-March as part of the...

GAO report warns of continued cost growth in NASA exploration programs
Posted: Sun, May 3 2:05 PM ET (1805 GMT)
A report Wednesday by the Government Accountability Office (GAO) warned of additional cost growth for NASA's exploration programs. The report said that costs for...

Report recommends Pentagon support two launch providers
Posted: Sun, May 3 2:04 PM ET (1804 GMT)
The Space and Missile Systems Center (SMC) says that a RAND study backs its plans to award launch contracts to two companies later this year....



news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 26
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit rocket fails on debut test flight
London Evening Standard — 6:52 am ET (1052 GMT)
Shooting for the moon
Toledo Blade — 6:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit fails in first attempt to launch rocket from jumbo jet
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 6:47 am ET (1047 GMT)
The Astronaut Wives Know Exactly What to Expect
The Atlantic — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list