spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches NRO mission
Posted: Thu, Dec 31 1:49 PM ET (1849 GMT)
SpaceX launched a classified mission for the National Reconnaissance Office Dec. 19. The Falcon 9 lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at 9 am...

Lockheed Martin to acquire Aerojet Rocketdyne
Posted: Thu, Dec 31 1:39 PM ET (1839 GMT)
Lockheed Martin will acquire Aerojet Rocketdyne in a $4.4 billion deal announced Dec. 20. Lockheed said the acquisition gives the company a larger footprint...

ESA selects next director general
Posted: Thu, Dec 31 1:35 PM ET (1835 GMT)
ESA's next director general says he will prioritize the agency's relationship with the EU and supporting commercial space development. At a news conference...

Investigation confirms cause of Vega failure
Posted: Thu, Dec 31 1:32 PM ET (1832 GMT)
An independent investigation confirmed that improperly connected cables caused the failure of a Vega launch last month. The European Space Agency announced Dec. 18 that...

Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Thu, Dec 31 1:27 PM ET (1827 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched Dec. 18 carrying three dozen OneWeb satellites. The Soyuz-2.1b rocket lifted off from the Vostochny Cosmodrome in Russia's...

India launches CMS-01 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Dec 21 6:01 AM ET (1101 GMT)
India launched a communications satellite early Thursday. A PSLV rocket lifted off at 5:11 am EST (1011 GMT) and released the CMS-01 satellite...

White House releases space nuclear strategy
Posted: Mon, Dec 21 5:57 AM ET (1057 GMT)
The White House released a strategy Wednesday for the development of space nuclear power and propulsion systems. Space Policy Directive (SPD) 6, titled "National Strategy...

Canadian astronaut to fly on first crewed Artemis mission
Posted: Mon, Dec 21 5:52 AM ET (1052 GMT)
A Canadian astronaut will fly on the first crewed Orion mission. NASA and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) announced Wednesday they had signed an agreement...

China returns lunar samples to Earth
Posted: Mon, Dec 21 5:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)
China's Chang'e-5 spacecraft returned samples of the moon to Earth on Wednesday. The spacecraft's return capsule landed in Inner Mongolia at...

Astra just misses reaching orbit on second orbital launch attempt
Posted: Mon, Dec 21 5:46 AM ET (1046 GMT)
Small launch vehicle company Astra just missed reaching orbit on its second launch Tuesday. The company's Rocket 3.2 lifted off from Kodiak Island,...



news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 21
EU signs contracts for 12 new satellites
Brussels Times — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)
Space Force Receives Fifth SBIRS Satellite
National Defense Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list