spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


JAXA sets date for first H3 launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 24 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)
The Japanese space agency JAXA has set a date for the first launch of the H3 rocket. JAXA said Friday that the inaugural launch of...

InSight Mars lander mission officially ends
Posted: Sat, Dec 24 11:13 AM ET (1613 GMT)
NASA's InSight Mars mission is officially over, the agency announced Wednesday. The lander missed its second consecutive communications session as its power levels dropped,...

Two satellites lost in Vega C launch failure
Posted: Sat, Dec 24 11:10 AM ET (1610 GMT)
A Vega C rocket carrying two imaging satellites failed during a launch Tuesday night. The Vega C lifted off from French Guiana at 8:47...

Virgin Orbit receives license for first UK launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 24 11:08 AM ET (1608 GMT)
Virgin Orbit has received a license for its first launch from the United Kingdom. The UK Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) said Wednesday it issued launch...

China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)
China launched three astronauts to the country's space station Tuesday. The Shenzhou-15 spacecraft launched at 10:08 am EST (1508 GMT) on a...

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)
The European Commission awarded a contract to Arianespace for five Vega C launches of Copernicus satellites. The contract, announced Tuesday, covers five Earth observation spacecraft...

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
The space station crew got next-day delivery of cargo over the weekend. A Falcon 9 lifted off at 2:20 pm EST (1910 GMT)...

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)
China launched a reconnaissance mission Nov. 27. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 7:23 am EST (...

PSLV launches Earth science satellite
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
An Indian rocket launched an Earth science satellite and eight secondary payloads early Nov. 26. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from the...

ESA selects new astronaut class
Posted: Sat, Nov 26 8:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
The European Space Agency announced a new class of 17 astronauts Wednesday. The class, the first selected by ESA since 2009, includes five "career" astronauts...



news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list